The Calder Trophy


Awarded to the player who is deemed as the most outstanding rookie of the season.

North Star Recipients:

Danny Grant 1969

Bobby Smith 1979

Mike Modano 1990 ?

Mike Modano did not receive the trophy in 1990. He was edged out by a Sergi Makarov, a 32 year old vetern who came to the Calgary Flames via the Soviet Red Army.

Many sports writers questioned the fact that Makarov had been voted ahead of Modano. Given Makarov's 10+ years of experience with the Red Army it was hard to call him a rookie. The next year the league's award committee made eligiblity requirements that would prohibit players with extensive club experience from winnning the award.

Mike did, however, recieve the "Hockey News" rookie of the year award.

Back to Home