Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

The BILL MASTERTON MEMORIAL TROPHY is an annual award under the trusteeship of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season. A grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, MN, in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner. The trophy was presented by the NHL Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late William Masterton, a player of the Minnesota North Stars, who exhibited to a high degree the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.


  1968          Claude Provost                Montreal Canadiens
  1969          Ted Hampson                   Oakland Seals
  1970          Pit Martin                    Chicago Blackhawks
  1971          Jean Ratelle                  New York Rangers
  1972          Bobby Clarke                  Philadelphia Flyers
  1973          Lowell MacDonald              Pittsburgh Penguins
  1974          Henri Richard                 Montreal Canadiens
  1975          Don Luce                      Buffalo Sabres
  1976          Rod Gilbert                   New York Rangers
  1977          Ed Westfall                   New York Islanders
  1978          Butch Goring                  Los Angeles Kings
  1979          Serge Savard                  Montreal Canadiens
  1980          Al MacAdam                    Minnesota North Stars
  1981          Blake Dunlop                  St.Louis Blues
  1982          Glenn Resch                   Colorado Rockies
  1983          Lanny McDonald                Calgary Flames
  1984          Brad Park                     Detroit Red Wings
  1985          Anders Hedberg                New York Rangers
  1986          Charlie Simmer                Boston Bruins
  1987          Doug Jarvis                   Hartford Whalers
  1988          Bob Bourne                    Los Angeles Kings
  1989          Tim Kerr                      Philadelphia Flyers
  1990          Gord Kluzak                   Boston Bruins
  1991          Dave Taylor                   Los Angeles Kings
  1992          Mark Fitzpatrick              New York Islanders
  1993          Mario Lemieux                 Pittsburgh Penguins
  1994          Cam Neely                     Boston Bruins
  1995          Pat LaFontaine                Buffalo Sabres
  1996          Gary Roberts                  Calgary Flames
  1997          Tony Granato                  San Jose Sharks
  1998          Jamie McLennan                St. Louis Blues
  1999          John Cullen                   Tampa Bay Lightning

Back to Home